Grumbach VA Merit Grant Funded

Dr. Isabella Grumbach, Associate Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine, has just had her VA Merit proposal funded with a four-year, $650,000 grant. Dr. Grumbach provided a detailed description of what she and the researchers in her lab will study: At least 30% of the estimated three million veterans with hypertension do not reach the current target […]

Stapleton VA Merit Funded

Dr. Jack Stapleton, Professor of Infectious Diseases, has just had his grant “Novel viral immune interference mechanisms: HCV as a model system” funded by a four-year, $650,000 VA Merit grant. Dr. Stapleton provided a detailed description of what specific avenues of research this will fund: Viruses have evolved mechanisms to evade recognition by the immune […]

Tireless Service to All

This week, we are celebrating human rights and diversity, which represents a core principle to which the Department is strongly committed. In this regard, we were honored to host President Bruce Harreld as our Grand Rounds speaker yesterday, where he shared his perspectives on “Making a Difference.” The many activities happening around the University of […]

Adams named Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Chair

Christopher Adams, MD, PhD, has been named the Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Chair. This position has been endowed by the Fraternal Order of Eagles (FOE) to propel and accelerate the pace of discoveries in the FOE Diabetes Research Center (FOEDRC), whose mission is to advance knowledge of the mechanisms of diabetes and its […]

Perencevich Elected to ASCI

Dr. Eli Perencevich, Associate Chair for Clinical and Health Services Research and Professor of General Internal Medicine and Epidemiology, has been elected to the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI). For more than 100 years, the ASCI has counted the most respected leaders in academic medicine in its 3,000-member body. These physician scientists from every […]

Iowa Fellow First Elected to Iowa Oncology Society Board

Dr. Andrew Iliff, second-year Hematology and Medical Oncology fellow, was recently elected as a Board Member by the Iowa Oncology Society (IOS). Dr. Iliff is the first fellow to be elected to this board. The IOS is the largest organization of oncologists in the state of Iowa serving many functions, including education and advocacy for […]

Dr. Paul Seebohm Eulogy

Last week, Dr. Paul Seebohm passed away at age 100. Few had as large an impact on the shape of today’s Department of Internal Medicine and primary care in the state of Iowa. At his funeral service on January 12, Dr. François Abboud, former Chair of the Department of Internal Medicine, delivered the following moving […]

Alva Venur Named to ASCO Council

Dr. Vyshak Alva Venur, second-year fellow in Hematology and Medical Oncology, has been named to the Trainee Council of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). Dr. Venur will serve with 19 other distinguished fellows from fellowship programs around the country to provide input on ASCO’s educational programs and a variety of ASCO publications, such […]

Noureddine Wins Culturally Responsive Health Care Award

On Wednesday, January 18, Dr. Lama Noureddine will receive the Culturally Responsive Health Care Award from Dr. Jean Robillard, Vice President of Medical Affairs and Dean of Carver College of Medicine. This will take place during Dr. Robillard’s UI Health Care Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Distinguished Lecture in the Prem Sahai Auditorium. The Culturally […]