“Always trying to innovate”: a mini Q&A with Manish Suneja, MD

Manish Suneja, MD, is the Vice Chair for Education and Program Director (PD) of the Internal Medicine Residency Program. He sat down with us recently to talk briefly about where the program has been and where it is headed next. You became Program Director in 2014, eight years ago. Who was instrumental in helping you […]

OSCE adapts to COVID-19 necessities

Last year, the third year for the Intern Objective Structured Clinical Evaluations (OSCE) was the most successful yet. Organizers Manish Suneja, MD, and Jane Rowat, MS, had received the stamp of peer review and had expanded to include interns from two other residency programs (Anesthesia and Family Medicine) within University of Iowa Health Care for evaluation. But just […]

Suneja, Szot continue tradition, streamline in DeGowin’s 11th

DeGowin’s Diagnostic Examination, Eleventh Edition, the newest in a series of updates of the classical clinical manual, will hit the market this Friday. At one time, this well-known text was required reading in nearly every medical school in North America. It was conceived and first penned by Elmer DeGowin, MD, a member of the department’s […]

Leadership training programs’ effectiveness evaluated

In training for a career in clinical practice or research, leadership and management skills are becoming increasingly necessary for physicians-in-training. To stay ahead of the curve, institutions have begun implementing leadership training in their graduate medical education (GME) programs. With the increased interest in leadership training, some of our GME leaders published a systematic review […]

The ecology of program director leadership: power relationships and characteristics of effective program directors

Article: The ecology of program director leadership: power relationships and characteristics of effective program directors Authors: Bharat Kumar, Melissa L. Swee, & Manish Suneja Journal: BMC Med Educ. 2019 Nov 21;19(1):436 Abstract: BACKGROUND: Program directors are often perceived as strong and independent leaders within the academic medical environment. However, they are not as omnipotent as […]

Residency committees create continuous improvement

For more than 80 years, the Internal Medicine Residency Program has focused on equipping residents with the skills and experiences they need to succeed as physicians. As part of the ongoing drive for excellence, the residency program directed by Manish Suneja, MD, has resident-led committees to provide avenues for feedback and improvement. Committees such as […]

Suneja named Vice Chair for Education

I am pleased to announce that Manish Suneja, MD, has accepted the role of Vice Chair for Education within the Department of Internal Medicine. Dr. Suneja is and will remain the Program Director of the Internal Medicine Residency Program, a program which he has led since 2014. Under his direction the program has achieved national […]

Suneja Wins President & Provost Award for Teaching Excellence

Manish Suneja, MD, Clinical Professor of Internal Medicine, will receive the 2018 President & Provost Award for Teaching Excellence. This award is the highest recognition awarded at the University of Iowa, only given to the most outstanding faculty each year. Dr. Suneja has directed the Internal Medicine Residency Program since 2014, and was Associate Program […]

Suneja and Rowat, CarlLee Awarded Innovation Funds

Internal Medicine Residency Program Director Dr. Manish Suneja, Educational Director Jane Rowat, and Chief Resident Dr. Sheena CarlLee have received funding for new education-related projects from the Graduate Medical Education Innovation Fund Committee. Dr. Suneja and Ms. Rowat’s proposal “Interdisciplinary Intern EPA-based OSCE with Automated Just-in-Time Feedback” will further refine the Objective Structured Clinical Examinations, […]

UI Team Awarded Gold Foundation Grant

A team of UI researchers will partner with investigators from Kentucky and Indiana to perform a comprehensive literature review on humanistic leadership training in graduate medical education. Drs. Bharat Kumar, Manish Suneja, and Jeffrey Pettit will partner with Dr. David Rudy, University of Kentucky College of Medicine, and Amy Blevins, Indiana University Medical Library. Heather […]