Collegiate celebration honors faculty excellence

Earlier this week, the Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine recognized three categories of excellence among its faculty in a small event. The Celebration of Research, Scholarship, Teaching, and Service presented awards to Impact Scholars, new additions to the Wall of Scholarship, and the winners of the CCOM Faculty Awards. Since the […]

Welsh receives Kober Medal

Michael Welsh, MD, professor of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Occupational Medicine, received the 2020 Association of American Physicians (AAP) George M. Kober Medal. Joseph Zabner, MD, Director of the Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Occupational Medicine, presented the honor to Welsh during the AAP, American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI) and American Physician Scientist Association […]

Holm receives national recognition for Veterans care

Adrian Holm, DO, has been selected as this year’s recipient of the Mark Wolcott Award for Excellence in Clinical Care Delivery. The Wolcott Award for Excellence is presented by the US Department of Veterans Affairs to a healthcare practitioner in a leadership or management position who has demonstrated excellence through exceptional support for direct patient care providers, […]

Goerdt wins Theilen Award

Christopher Goerdt, MD, MPH, has been awarded one of the highest distinctions the Carver College of Medicine grants, the Dr. Ernest O. Theilen Clinical Teaching and Service Award. This award, sponsored by the Office of Faculty Affairs and Development, recognizes a faculty member each year who embodies the ideals Theilen exemplified in his compassion and dedication […]

Who Inspires You? Women in Medicine for Women’s History Month

For Women’s History Month, we featured stories of influential women in medical history. Department faculty provided their response to the following question: “Who is a woman in medicine in the near or distant past who inspires you and why?“ Melissa Swee, MD: Dr. Mary Edwards Walker Hilary Mosher, MFA, MD: Bettye Tate Christie Thomas, MBBS: […]

Grumbach elected to prestigious cardiology group

Isabella Grumbach, MD, PhD, professor in Cardiovascular Medicine and Vice Chair for Research, was nominated and elected to the Association of University Cardiologists (AUC), a national organization for the country’s leaders in academic cardiology. As a member of the AUC, Grumbach will meet once a year in January for a two-day scientific discussion with other […]

Klesney-Tait appointed to national lung transplantation committee

Julia Klesney-Tait, MD, PhD, associate professor in Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Occupational Medicine, was appointed to the national Organ Procurement and Transplantation Network (OPTN) Lung Transplantation Committee. During this three-year appointment Klesney-Tait will represent the interests of Region 8, which includes Iowa, Nebraska, Missouri, Colorado, and Kansas. The Lung Transplantation Committee is a national committee of […]

Dowden elected to AAAAI education leadership role

Amy Dowden, MD, clinical associate professor in Immunology and associate program director for the Allergy/Immunology Fellowship Program, has been elected to a two-year term as the Internal Medicine Councilor on the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology (AAAAI) Program Directors Assembly (PDA). In this role she will serve on the Executive Committee of this […]

Black History in Medicine: 20 one-minute stories

The impact of Black Americans on the course of medicine cannot be overstated. Though often denied access to the same opportunity, training, and compensation as their white counterparts, these 20 individuals are all united by their devotion to improving the health of their neighbors, their communities, and the world despite the injustice they faced. James […]