Nizar receives ASCI award

Jonathan Nizar, MD, assistant professor in Nephrology, received the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI) 2019 Young Physician-Scientist Award. Nizar, who joined Internal Medicine at Iowa last month, was nominated by a faculty member at his previous institution, Stanford University School of Medicine. Welcome and congratulations, Dr. Nizar! A more formal introduction is in development. […]

Burning question takes big step closer to answers

Alejandro Comellas Freymond, MD, clinical associate professor in the Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Occupational Medicine, and Emma Stapleton, PhD, a public health postdoctoral research fellow in the Department of Occupational and Environmental Health and a member of Comellas’s lab, spent a week in Tamil Nadu, India, preparing to research the effects of indoor […]

Kenny receives grant to examine cardiac dysfunction

Helena Kenny, PhD, a postdoctoral research scholar in Dr. Dale Abel’s lab and in the Division of Endocrinology, received a one-year, $250,000 grant from MyoKardia as a part of their MyoSeeds Research Grants Program. The grant will support Kenny’s investigation of how altered mitochondrial dynamics contribute to the development of cardiac dysfunction. “OPA1 is an […]

Recent faculty additions, November-December 2018

The Department of Internal Medicine would like to introduce our newest members who joined in the months of November and December 2018 (start dates in parentheses). We are pleased to welcome them to the department. Martha Carvour, MD, PhD – Assistant Professor (11-26-18) Dr. Martha Carvour joins the Division of Infectious Diseases as an Assistant […]

Cardiovascular Medicine holiday party, 1/18/19

Scheduling holiday events in December pose logistical challenges, but any winter date in Iowa poses a risk. By Saturday morning Iowa City would be under six inches of snow, but the first few flakes did not stop dozens of members of the Division of Cardiovascular Medicine from gathering at the Iowa River Power Restaurant to […]

Nagy wins ENDO abstract award

Second-year endocrinology fellow Dr. Rea Nagy has won an Outstanding Abstract Award from the Endocrine Society in advance of their annual meeting in New Orleans in late March. Dr. Nagy will also receive a $500 travel award to the conference, where she will present her abstract “Non-Islet Cell Tumor-Induced Hypoglycemia in a Patient with IGF-2 […]

PKD research gets boost from Hills family

In our most recent issue of Foundations & Innovations we profiled some of the generous donors whose philanthropy helps fuel the work we do in the department. One of those profiles was on Jared and Carol Hills, who have donated more than $3.5M to the University of Iowa over the last 45 years to a […]

HOBMT Leadership Change

I am pleased to announce that we have implemented a new leadership structure for the Division of Hematology, Oncology, and Blood & Marrow Transplantation (HOBMT). The missions of the division have been divided operationally into a Section of Oncology led by Mohammed Milhem, MBBS, and a Section of Hematology led by Steven Lentz, MD, PhD. […]

Class of 2019 matches across the country and at Iowa

With last week’s Fellowship Match Day, many of our graduating residents can breathe a sigh of relief as their next couple years become much clearer. The Department is proud to announce that every one of our residents who entered the fellowship match met with success. This year’s 100% placement rate raises our five-year rolling average […]

Quality and Safety Symposium 2018, Poster Session

Posters from multiple colleges across the University of Iowa, from both sides of the river, were represented at this year’s session. More than 60 posters documenting a wide variety of activities from better handoffs to managing pharmaceuticals more safely and efficiently were on display. As with years past, the session encourages works in progress to […]