OVPRED “Celebrating Excellence” Award Winners

Several members of the Department of Internal Medicine were recognized at the The Office of the Vice President for Research and Economic Development’s “Celebrating Excellence: Discovery and Innovation Awards Ceremony” on Wednesday, April 13.

AmjadiTwo undergraduate students, UI juniors Maya Amjadi and Nicholas McCarty, received the Excellence in Undergraduate Research award for their work.

Ms. Amjadi’s research was titled “Ectosomes from human neutrophils laden with Staphylococcus aureus induce a pro-inflammatory response in macrophages.” She gives “special thanks to the entire Nauseef lab, especially to my mentors Dr. Mallary Greenlee-Wacker and Dr. Bill McCartyNauseef, and our collaborator Dr. Alex Horswill.”

Mr. McCarty’s research was titled “Insulin Receptor Substrate Signaling Preserves Contractile Function and Structure in the Adult Heart.” He thanks his “phenomenal mentor,” Dr. Dale Abel. “He has been my research PI and an outstanding mentor to me for the last 2.5+ years.”

HeistadDr. Donald Heistad has been awarded the Leadership in Research Award. Dr. Heistad is the R. T. Zahn Professor of Cardiology. He has authored more than 500 peer-reviewed manuscripts, editorials, and book chapters. His research has focused on atherosclerosis and cerebral circulation in hypertension and stroke. His impact on students will be just as enduring as his research discoveries. His career continues to stand as a remarkable example of brilliance in research and dedication to this institution.

AbouAlaiwaThe Distinguished Mentor Award was given to Dr. Mahmoud Abou Alaiwa, Assistant Professor of the Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Occupational Medicine. Dr. Abou Alaiwa has been invaluable to many students, but he was nominated by one student, Christopher Cozzolino. Mr. Cozzolino says that what makes Dr. Abou Alaiwa so effective is that he actively learns alongside his students while teaching, “bringing me along for the ride.” He also says that Dr. Abou Alaiwa “has perfected the art of being a mentor, and . . . has not only gained my loyalty and respect, but has made me want to provide that same experience to my future mentees.”

KarpFinally, Philip Karp, Director of the In Vitro Culture Core in the Michael Welsh Lab, has been awarded the Distinguished Research Professional award. Mr. Karp developed the In Vitro Models and Cell Culture Core, establishing techniques that have been essential to discovery and that have led to more than 200 papers published in top journals. These innovations have allowed University of Iowa investigators to continue leading the field in studying cystic fibrosis and contributed to many patents and new medicines. As manager of the Welsh Lab, Mr. Karp is involved with everything from lab work, training others, and administration. Mr. Karp is the co-author of many papers, and his contributions go beyond the technical aspects of the work; he is a thoughtful, creative, and innovative lab manager.

Congratulations to all!

2 Responses

  1. […] One of the major activities in this lab is studying how cystic fibrosis (CF) affects pigs with this chronic disease, which is characterized by a thick mucus coating and clogging the body’s respiratory system. The CF pig, developed at the University of Iowa by Dr. Mike Welsh, has provided a wealth of data about how CF affects people. Ms. Hartry points out, “I don’t even know what they did before. Nothing else is as similar to human airways.” Researchers produced thousands of CT scans of CF pig airways, tracking their ability to move particulates through in response to various types of interventions. By layering thousands of these scans on top of one another researchers could produce one picture and a sort of “race” of particulates to see which interventions are most effective in direct comparison. Although Ms. Hartry did not write the code that did this layering, they let her spend time studying it, so she could see how it works. (It is no surprise that one of the faculty researchers Ms. Hartry works with, Dr. Mahmoud Abou Alaiwa, won a Distinguished Mentor Award earlier this year.) […]

Leave a Reply