Pulmonary-Critical Care Fellows Graduation Event

Rarely does the sentence “And a good time was had by all” seem more fitting than Saturday’s farewell to the graduating fellows in the Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Occupational Medicine. Faculty, staff, and their family members gathered at the recently opened Terry Trueblood Recreation Area just south of Iowa City. The park lodge offered a picturesque setting and relaxed atmosphere that suited the event.

The organizing idea for the event was a bit of a contest. About half a dozen faculty and staff members prepared their own special recipes of briskets and BBQ sauces, which guests could sample and vote on. All attendees were encouraged to bring a craft beer that others could taste-test and vote on. After a social hour featuring some jazz performed by a talented City High combo, guests took their seats for presentations by Division Director Dr. Joe Zabner and Fellowship Director Dr. Jeff Wilson.

Dr. Zabner began by recognizing the extraordinary efforts and professionalism that Division Coordinator Jamie Schwartz has brought to the division and how much she will be missed by all. He expressed a similar sentiment for the departing Dr. Karl Thomas, soon to join the faculty at Wake Forest University. Ms. Schwartz and Dr. Thomas were each presented with signed Hawkeye basketballs to remember Iowa by. Dr. Zabner also presented Dr. Tom Gross with the fellow-chosen Teacher of the Year award.

Dr. Wilson recounted some recent successes by members of the fellowship program, and then introduced each graduating fellow, balancing their achievements with some humorous details from their past. It was clear that each of the graduates mean a great deal to Dr. Wilson and to the rest of the division.

After finally getting to sample those briskets and some more music from the jazz combo, support staff presented Ms. Schwartz with some tokens of their appreciation. Then the fellows themselves closed the evening with their own light roast of faculty and their own deep appreciation for the entire division that has made their time here unforgettable.

Congratulations and best of luck to the graduating fellows!

Lindsey Barnes
Rachel Butler
Andrew Reger
Hisham Taher

1 Response

Leave a Reply