Bird House Hospice Home – Internal Medicine’s impact

Representatives from the Bird House Hospice Home of Johnson County brought snacks, stories, and gratitude to the Department of Internal Medicine yesterday afternoon. Rebecca Carver, Sanjana Raghavan, and Carol Tippe have stayed in close contact with the department throughout our Spring Community Engagement project and helped us bring this campaign to a close in a […]

Grumbach chairs AHA leadership committee

Isabella Grumbach, MD, PhD, FAHA, professor in Cardiovascular Medicine and Vice Chair for Research, now serves as Chair of the American Heart Association’s Council on Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology (ATVB) Women’s Leadership Committee (WLC). Grumbach has been an active member of the AHA since 2002 and has worked to support women and women’s issues […]

Rosen awarded CFF career development grant

Bradley H. Rosen, DO, assistant professor of Internal Medicine in Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Occupational Medicine has been named a Harry Shwachman Clinical Investigator awardee by the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. This prestigious award is designed to provide the opportunity for promising, clinically trained physicians with a commitment to research to develop into independent cystic fibrosis […]

How to obtain MOC credit for Update in Internal Medicine (ABIM)

As announced earlier this year, Maintenance of Certification (MOC) credits are available for attendance at select Internal Medicine Grand Rounds presentations. Two presentations, one on May 30 and another on June 6, will provide 10 MOC credits to interested and eligible participants. Part of the MOC module requires participants to log in to the ABIM […]

Song receives AHA Innovation Grant

Long-Sheng Song, MD, MS, Professor in Cardiovascular Medicine, has received a two-year, $200,000 Innovative Project Award (IPA) from the American Heart Association. Song will use the IPA to examine the role of junctophilin-2 (JP2) in smooth muscle physiology and in vascular disease, including hypertension. JP2’s function as a regulating protein in cardiac and skeletal muscle […]

Dokun named Endocrinology Division Director

I am pleased to announce that Ayotunde O. Dokun, MD, PhD, FACE, will become Director of the Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism in the Department of Internal Medicine at the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine, effective July 1, 2019. Dr. Dokun joins us from the University of Tennessee Health Science Center where he […]

Zhan, Bishop receive Department of Defense and HCCC grants

Fenghuang (Frank) Zhan, MD, PhD, professor of Hematology, Oncology and Blood and Marrow Transplantation, and partnering with Gail Bishop, PhD, professor of Microbiology and Immunology and of Internal Medicine, earned a four-year, $1.52M grant from the US Department of Defense. Zhan also received a one-year, $20,000 grant from Iowa’s Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center for a similar project. Zhan and Bishop’s proposed research predicts that anti-CD24 […]

2020-21 Chief Residents Announced

The following is a statement from Residency Program Director Dr. Manish Suneja. It is with great pride that I announce the 2020-21 Chief Residents for the Internal Medicine Residency Program. The Chief Residents are chosen for their leadership skills, moral integrity, and clinical acumen and are the most representative faces of the Internal Medicine Residency […]

Iowa represents at every level at ENDO 2019

New Orleans seems to be the place this year. Just a couple weeks ago, the nation’s cardiologists gathered in a convention center just south of the French Quarter. And the last few days it has been the endocrinologists turn in the Big Easy. ENDO 2019 is finishing today, but has already featured some fairly monumental […]

Potential new focus for MODS treatment

Although a definitive explanation for why multiple organ dysfunction system (MODS) occurs has yet to be found, solutions for treating it are beginning to emerge. Paloma Giangrande, PhD, associate professor in Hematology, Oncology and Blood and Marrow Transplantation, is senior author on a study published last month in Nature Communications investigating the treatment of MODS […]