ACP Iowa Chapter 2016 Awards

Last month the Iowa Chapter of the American College of Physicians (ACP) held its annual meeting, coinciding with the CME conference Progress and the University of Iowa’s Homecoming. Besides giving the ACP members a chance to reconnect and share ideas, it was also a chance to recognize excellence among its members.

The Laureate Award is given to two physicians each year, to recognize his or her achievements of excellence in internal medicine in the state. This year the award went to Residency Director Dr. Manish Suneja and to Dr. Hendrk Schultz, Hospitalist at Mercy Medical Center in Dubuque. This post has more information about Dr. Suneja’s award.

The ACP Chapter Excellence/Lifetime Achievement Award went to Dr. Donald Brown, Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine. Attending the evening awards presentation and accepting on Dr. Brown’s behalf was his wife Judy Barkalow.

The CEO emeritus of ACP Dr. Steve Weinberger was both on hand to give a keynote address at Progress and to present ACP Chapter President Dr. Scott Vogelgesang with the Chapter Excellence award for everything that the Iowa Chapter of ACP has achieved this year. Congratulations to these award winners and all the members of the ACP on these terrific accomplishments.

Leave a Reply