Internal Medicine Education Awards

The following award winners were announced by Dr. Manish Suneja, Director of the Internal Medicine Residency Program, on Thursday, May 25.


AbboudAward2017Francois M. Abboud Internal Medicine Resident Award
Amanda Grippen Goddard

Presented annually to recognize the Senior Resident in the Department of Internal Medicine who has carried out the most meritorious research work during residency.

TheilenAward2017Ernest O. Theilen Award
Nicole Grogan, Casey Adams

Presented annually to a resident in the department of Internal Medicine who, during assignment to the coronary care unit, exemplifies the qualities of devotion to patient needs, concern for human dignity, a sense of humility, and above all exceptional skill in the care of the sick.

Awards are also presented to the year’s Outstanding Graduating Resident and the Outstanding Faculty Teacher. The winners of these awards will be announced at the residency graduation dinner on June 8.

1 Response

  1. […] Also at Grand Rounds yesterday, Residency Director Dr. Manish Suneja announced the recipients of our annual education awards given to educators, residents, and staff. These recognitions remind us of our shared responsibility as educators and should motivate us to renew our commitment to preparing young minds and hands for research and healing. What we teach our students and trainees, the courses we draft and refine, the conferences we organize, undoubtedly has an incalculable return in the lives they will save, the discoveries they will make, and the students of the future that our trainees will themselves educate. Please join me in celebrating these young physicians and researchers and our other colleagues who make their growth and future greatness possible. A full list of awards and their recipients can be found here. […]

Leave a Reply