Internal Medicine Residents Graduation, 6/14/18

Three years running now, the Internal Medicine Graduating Residents’ Dinner has chosen the Feller Club Room inside Carver-Hawkeye Arena. It’s safe to say after last week’s successful celebration of its graduating and departing residents, organizers will return here next year.

The evening began with a social hour, some appetizers, informal group photos, and one large formal shot. Fortunately, Susan McClellan was on hand to get the group into shape on the risers for the formal photograph. (We will share her photos when they become available.)



During this time, guests were also treated to a running slideshow featuring each of the honorees. They had been asked to name some favorite memories, faculty members, and even what to order from the cafeteria. All of which could serve as valuable information for future classes.



Once everyone was seated, Residency Program Director Dr. Manish Suneja formally welcomed everyone and offered his congratulations and a few last pieces of advice. This particular class holds a special place for him, he explained, as they were the first go through an entirely new curriculum and so represented a new era of Iowa graduates. He asked the faculty and staff of the residency program’s leadership, including the Chief Residents, Cindy Batzkiel, and Denise Floerchinger, to rise and be recognized.

Department Chair and DEO Dr. Dale Abel then delivered some remarks. He pointed out on the back of the program, Dr. Suneja’s name is listed four times as a previous winner of the resident-selected Outstanding Teacher Award. “That should tell you something,” Dr. Abel said. He congratulated Dr. Suneja on another terrific graduating class as well as the recent news of the residency program’s rise in the national rankings.

Then it was time for the presentation of the certificates and, as Dr. Katie Harris described it, “some awkward hugs.” Each graduate said a few words, thanking family, friends, colleagues, and partners. Some speeches were funny, some emotional, but all expressed heartfelt appreciation for their time at Iowa and how much they would miss their time in residency.



Dr. Vicki Kijewski presented a certificate to Dr. Aubrey Chan, who was completing his fifth year of training in the Medicine-Psychiatry pathway. Dr. Harris, opting for the fist-bump over the hug, presented certificates and cupcakes to the graduates of the hospitalist pathway. Each of the Chiefs came up to offer their own last pieces of advice and their thanks to the class for all of their hard work.



Finally it was time to present two awards, each voted on by the residents themselves. The Residents’ Award for Excellence went to Dr. Casey Adams. And the Faculty Teacher of the Year Award went to Dr. Jeff Wilson. After their brief and gracious acceptance speeches, the evening drew to a close. Some final farewells, and for some reason, a few more pictures of Dr. Adam Dhedhi with others.



Congratulations to all our departing and graduating residents. The Department of Internal Medicine is grateful for the time each of you spent with us and for the opportunity to have served as such an important stepping stone in what we are certain will be amazing careers. You will carry our pride with you wherever you go.

2018 Graduating & Departing Residents

Casey Adams Heidi Ahmed Josiah An
Colin Burnett Daniel Chakos Aubrey Chan
Justin Chau Katherine Chenoweth Adam Dhedhi
Bryce Duchman Shaun Fernandes Ruth Fernandez Ruiz
Christopher Fortenbach Nicole Grogan Eric Heller
Carolyn Hilliard Kevin Hoang Lauren Hock
Christopher Iverson Stephanie Ivins Waynekid Kam
Mirza Khan Jennifer Langstengel Keenan Laraway
Tyler Quist Erin Rasmussen Benjamin Scallon
Robert Szalewski Anamika Tandon Alexis Warren
Caroline Wilson Alice Xu Nanmeng Yu
Chief Residents:
Sheena CarlLee Amanda Grippen Goddard
Aaron Vose Josiah Zubairu

For the full Graduation Slideshow: Graduation for the Class of 2018



1 Response

Leave a Reply