Internal Medicine takes its place on the wall

In recognition of scholarship that has had wide-ranging impact, the Carver College of Medicine created the Wall of Scholarship in the atrium of the Eckstein Medical Research Building. That wall was formally dedicated earlier this week by UI President Bruce Harreld, Provost and UI Interim Executive Vice President Sue Curry, and Brooks Jackson, dean of the Carver College of Medicine.

Many of the 20 faculty members honored with placement on the wall, colleagues, and friends were present for the dedication. Read about that event.

The Department of Internal Medicine is proud that 7 of the 20 faculty members have already earned a spot on the wall with 10 of the 32 publications with more than 1,000 citations. Congratulations to:

  • François M. Abboud, MD, MACP
  • Sue C. Bodine, PhD (2 publications)
  • Daniel Diekema, MD, MS
  • Michael Edmond, MD, MPH, MPA (2 publications)
  • Kaikobad Irani, MD
  • Michael Welsh, MD (2 publications)
  • Joseph Zabner, MD

We know that as more names are added to the wall over time that the department will continue to be well represented. Our thanks to the Carver College of Medicine for this growing monument to the impact of the University of Iowa on the world.

See more photographs from the March 5 event.

Leave a Reply