Farewell from our 2018-19 Chief Residents

Before chief year started, someone told us, “The days will be long but the year will be short.” As we type up this farewell, we couldn’t agree more. Some of our long days included changing the 6RC call schedule right before July 1st, prepping for Monday and Friday recruitment lectures, and waiting for Dr. Smock to make all of his points at our weekly leadership meeting. But now, as we each prepare to move on to the next phase in our career, we can say that the year went by in a blur. We might hate our email slightly more than when we started the year, but we know we have grown as both physicians and educators because of our experiences during chief year. We hope that we left the program better than when we started, because we know we are better for having been Iowa Internal Medicine Chiefs. A special thank you to the people who taught us (very patiently) what it means to be a good chief resident: Dr. Suneja, Dr. Beck, Dr. Harris, Dr. Smock, Cindy, Denise, and the rest of the program leadership. And to the residents—thank you for giving us time and space to learn how to be both leaders and advocates. We will miss you all (but not having to buy endless bags of candy)!

Bryce, Nicole, Carolyn, and Jen

Bryce Duchman, MD, will begin his fellowship in Pulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine at University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics. Nicole Grogan, MD, will begin her fellowship in Hematology/Oncology at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. Carolyn Hilliard, MD, will remain at Iowa as an academic hospitalist. Jennifer Langstengel, MD, will become an academic faculty member at Lehigh Valley Health Network in Pennsylvania.


1 Response

Leave a Reply