2020 Research Seminar Series Schedule Announced

The Internal Medicine Research Seminar Series, which heads into its fourth year in 2020, provides a unique forum to showcase the broad array of discovery being conducted within the department. Aside from the first presentation, which will feature a single speaker for the hour, the sessions will follow the traditional format, in which two presenters each describe their individual work for 20 minutes and reserve 10 minutes for audience discussion. This, attendees have found over the years, fosters collaboration and new ideas unlike most other department-sponsored research seminars within the college.

The first session’s presenter will be Kelly O’Berry, Education & Outreach Manager of the University of Iowa Human Subjects Office, who will use the hour to discuss information and available resources regarding the university’s Institutional Review Boards (IRBs).

The schedule of presenters follows below. We hope to see you there!

Location: Bean Conference Room (SE301 GH)
Time: 1:00-2:00pm

January 14: IRB presentation – Kelly O’Berry

February 11: Kaikobad Irani, MD; Michael Tomasson, MD

March 10: Daniel Livorsi, MD; Mark Yorek, PhD

April 14: Terry Wahls, MD; Joseph Zabner, MD

May 12: Sneha Phadke, DO; Mary Wilson, MD

June 9: Nabeel Hamzeh, MD; Barry London, MD, PhD

August 11: Ayotunde Dokun, MD, PhD, FACE; 2nd presenter TBD

September 8: Jonathan Nizar, MD: Phil Polgreen, MD, MPH

October 13: Josalyn Cho, MD: Mark Vander Weg, PhD

November 10: Thorsten Maretzky, PhD; Leonid Zingman, MD

December 9: Spyridon Fortis, MD; Shunguang Wei, PhD


1 Response

Leave a Reply