Internal Medicine Education Awards, 2019–20

The following award winners were announced by Manish Suneja, MD, Director of the Internal Medicine Residency Program, on Thursday, June 11. See photos from the announcement.


BjarnasonFrançois M. Abboud Internal Medicine Resident Award
Thor Bjarnason

Presented annually to recognize one or two Senior Residents in the Department of Internal Medicine who carried out the most meritorious research work during residency.



BjarnasonStatzErnest O. Theilen Award
Thor Bjarnason, Giselle Statz

Presented annually to a resident in the Department of Internal Medicine who, during assignment to the coronary care unit, exemplifies the qualities of devotion to patient needs, concern for human dignity, a sense of humility, and above all, exceptional skill in the care of the sick.

Awards are also presented to the year’s Outstanding Graduating Resident and the Outstanding Faculty Teacher. The winners of these awards will be announced at the virtual residency graduation ceremony on June 16.

2 Responses

Leave a Reply