SHM Poster Session, 2021

Late last month, the Iowa Chapter of the Society of Hospital Medicine hosted its sixth annual poster session, virtually for a second year. More than twenty presentations in research, innovation, and clinical vignettes were submitted for competition, the winner of which receives guaranteed poster acceptance at the April SHM national meeting in Nashville and their travel and registration costs covered.

Dianna Edwards, MD, medical director at UnityPoint Clinic and St. Luke’s Hospital, is the current SHM Iowa Chapter president. In a message announcing the results of this year’s session, Edwards thanked the presenters “for taking the time to showcase their hard work in improving patient care and raising awareness for very complex diagnosis, interesting clinical vignettes, and innovative research.”

As with regional and national conferences, our trainees and their mentors practiced their presentation skills and bolstered their confidence engaging in scholarship. Each of the bolded names below is currently in residency, three in our program and one at MercyOne Medical Center in Des Moines.

Congratulations to these winners and to all 21 participants.


First place poster prize recipient:

Runner-up poster prize recipients:

See all the posters, like the one pictured below, in the Virtual Poster Hall.

Thank you, as well, to the following judges, who took time from their busy schedules to evaluate the posters.

Neeru Agarwal
Andy Bryant
Dianna Edwards
Mike Farley
Kristen Followwill Walker
Alpana Garg
Melinda Johnson
Ethan Kuperman

Leave a Reply