Outstanding Resident & Teacher of the Year Awards, 2023

At last evening’s Internal Medicine Residency Graduation, the final three resident-chosen awards for the year were announced. The bulk of the awards had been announced last week at the Chief Residents’ Grand Rounds.

Outstanding Intern of the Year – Tyler Maggio, MD
Outstanding Junior Resident of the Year – Hayley Pysick, MD
Outstanding Fellow of the Year – Justin Holmes, MD
Outstanding Support Staff of the Year – Julianne Jensen

In addition, two named awards—one honoring François M. Abboud and the other Ernest O. Theilen—were also distributed. The first went to Jonathan Day, MD, and the second to Rachel Anderson, MD, and Marie Finkbeiner, MD.

The final three awards, the Amarachi Anukam Humanism Award, Outstanding Faculty Teacher of the Year, and Outstanding Graduating Resident, would be revealed a week later, at last night’s Residency Graduation event. (Our full recap of that evening is here.) The Anukam Humanism Award, created in honor of a resident who passed away in 2019, was presented to Reed Johnson, MD.

Outstanding Faculty Teacher of the Year went to William Iverson, MD. 

Outstanding Graduating Resident of the Year was presented to Rachel Genova, MD, PhD.

Congratulations to all this year’s winners!

Leave a Reply