Abel elected to National Academy of Sciences

E. Dale Abel, MD, PhD, was named as one of the 120 newly elected members of the National Academy of Sciences last week. Abel is the William S. Adams Distinguished Professor of Medicine, chair, and executive medical director of the Department of Medicine in the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA Health, Los Angeles. […]

Responding to the call, even on vacation

Gatr-Alnada (Gatra) Gheriani, MBChB, first-year Rheumatology fellow, and her husband, Mahmod El-Tayash MBChB, FACS, a general surgeon at the Grinnell Regional Medical Center, were in the pursuit of a relaxing spring break. Although Gheriani and El-Tayash both love their specialties, a getaway from the fast-paced clinics and procedure rooms was very overdue. “He had just […]

Romano Ibarra earns trainee scholarship, finds strength in community

Guillermo Romano Ibarra, a Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP) candidate, recently received a Minority Trainee Development Scholarship (MTDS) from the American Thoracic Society (ATS). He will give an oral presentation and be honored during the Diversity Forum of the ATS’s International Conference on May 15 in San Francisco, CA. However, his road to the MTDS […]

Shi receives AHA career development award

Qian Shi, PhD, research assistant professor in Endocrinology and Metabolism, received a three-year, $231,000 American Heart Association (AHA) Career Development Award (CDA). With this funding, Shi will explore the protective role of endogenous insulin receptor substrate protein 2 (IRS2) in the heart. Insulin receptor substrate proteins mediate insulin signaling in the heart. IRS1 and ISR2 […]

A celebration of women

On Wednesday, the University of Iowa held its annual Celebration of Excellence and Achievement Among Women. In addition to scholarships to deserving undergraduate and graduate women, for nearly thirty years they have also given achievement awards to a woman faculty and a woman staff member. In recent years, Dr. Peggy Nopoulous, Chair of the Department […]

Herwaldt earns May Brodbeck Award

At next week’s Celebration of Excellence and Achievement Among Women, Loreen Herwaldt, MD, professor in Infectious Diseases, will be presented with the May Brodbeck Distinguished Achievement Award for Faculty, one of two awards given at the University of Iowa-sponsored event. The May Brodbeck Award recognizes outstanding accomplishments or a lifetime record of service as a […]

Nayak receives AHA career development award

Manasa Nayak, PhD, research assistant professor in Hematology, Oncology, and Blood and Marrow Transplantation, received a three-year, $231,000 American Heart Association (AHA) Career Development Award. Nayak previously earned an AHA postdoctoral fellowship in 2018. With this new AHA funding, Nayak will explore potential new treatments for deep vein thrombosis, under the mentorship of Anil K. Chauhan, […]

Mokadem Lab student researcher receives AGA summer fellowship

Hussein Herz, a first-year medical student in the lab of Mohamad Mokadem, MD, received the American Gastroenterological Association (AGA) Research Foundation’s Aman Armaan Ahmed Family Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship award. Under the mentorship of Mokadem, assistant professor in Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Herz will study the role of peripheral endocannabinoid receptor-1 (CB1) on weight balance under […]

Newly elected senators in Internal Medicine

Congratulations to the following Internal Medicine faculty members recently elected to the University of Iowa Faculty Senate from the Carver College of Medicine! The University of Iowa Faculty Senate, composed of eighty representatives of all academic units of the university, serves as the principal channel of communication between faculty members and the central administration of […]

Schmidt receives 2022 DiBona Award

The below is a message from Bradley Dixon, MD, Chief of Medicine, Iowa City VA Health Care System (ICVA). It is with enormous pleasure that I announce that the Awards Committee has selected Dr. Warren N. Schmidt, staff physician at the ICVA and Emeritus Professor of Medicine in the Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology at […]