SHM Brings Posters to Progress

As with the ACP Iowa Chapter, the Iowa Chapter of the Society of Hospital Medicine (SHM) also took advantage of Homecoming weekend and Progress 2017 to hold its annual meeting. Chapter President Dr. Melinda Johnson, Clinical Professor of General Internal Medicine, organized two events.

The first was an evening gathering at a downtown Iowa City restaurant. Chapter awards were given after a social hour. Dr. Kevin Glenn, Director of the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics Hospitalist Program, received the Excellence in Research Award. Dr. T. Michael Farley, Clinical Pharmacy Specialist on the Hospitalist Team, received the Excellence in Teaching Award. And Evelyn Perry, MHA, Hospitalist Program Coordinator, was awarded the Excellence in Management Award.

Midday of the second day, Dr. Johnson and her team organized a research poster session on the second floor of the Hotel Vetro, with a nice view of a rainy Pedestrian Mall. More than twenty posters were on display, featuring research and cases at the University of Iowa, Des Moines Mercy Medical Center, and Des Moines Iowa Methodist Medical Center.

First prize went to Dr. Kristin Olson from Des Moines Mercy. Tae Yeon Kim, senior medical student in the Carver College of Medicine, received an award for her poster as well. Her co-authors include Dr. Glenn as well as third-year Internal Medicine Resident Dr. Nicole Grogan and second-year resident Dr. Jennifer Strouse. Congratulations to all on this successful and important mentorship.

Congratulations to Dr. Melinda Johnson on successfully integrating SHM’s Chapter Meeting with Progress in a way that helps achieve the goals of the conference.

1 Response

Leave a Reply