Kumar Joins Rheumatology Fellowship Leadership

Bharat Kumar, MD, MME FACP RhMSUS, Clinical Assistant Professor in Immunology, has been named Associate Program Director for the Rheumatology Fellowship. Dr. Kumar will work with Program Director Rebecca Tuetken, MD, PhD, Clinical Associate Professor in Immunology, to manage the recruitment of new fellows as well as the design and implementation of curriculum for the current fellows.

Dr. Kumar has firsthand knowledge of the program, having completed both rheumatology and allergy/immunology fellowships at the University of Iowa through the dual certification pathway. During his fellowship, he also earned a Master of Medical Education from the Carver College of Medicine. He joined the faculty of Internal Medicine last August, with research interests in diagnostic reasoning, musculoskeletal ultrasonography, and complex immune-based disorders. Last fall, Dr. Kumar received the Joseph E. Johnson Leadership Award from the Iowa Chapter of the American College of Physicians. He also received a grant with Dr. Manish Suneja from the Arnold P. Gold Foundation perform a comprehensive literature review on humanistic leadership training in graduate medical education.

Leave a Reply