Internal Medicine Residents Graduation, 2022

“Do you really think I’m ready for Hollywood?” That was the question posed by Internal Medicine Residency Program Director Manish Suneja, MD, to Dale Abel, MD, PhD, near the end of the short film “Suneja Stream.” The film debuted midway through last week’s Residency Graduation event as graduates and their families, faculty and staff were finishing their meal. “Oh ,yes, you are,” the former Chair and DEO of the Department of Internal Medicine replied. Abel reminded Suneja that he was in Los Angeles now and that he would “run it by some of (his) people and get back” to him. Then, of course, Suneja woke up.

Though the promise of streaming media fame may have only been a dream, last Thursday’s event was still packed with Hollywood moments worthy of a class of celebrities and stars, who all earned their evening of celebration.

With the full support of program and department leadership, the residency program administrative staff,  the Chief Residents, and the department’s Digital Services lead all began planning months in advance. The same location as last year’s event, the Stanley Café inside Hancher Auditorium, was reserved. Ideas for videos were hashed out and family members of each graduating resident were contacted, requesting childhood anecdotes and photographs. Family, especially those who would be unable to attend in person but could watch the livestream, were also encouraged to send video tributes, which were later edited together for broadcast on the night.

And then it was time for the event. Graduates, guests, and faculty arrived, helped themselves to refreshments, and enjoyed the music from a live jazz combo, which included Scott Vogelgesang, MD, on trumpet.


Graduates and program leadership were then invited to gather on the stairs for a group photo. Our thanks to UI Health Care’s photography team for organizing and capturing the moment.


Suneja and Interim Chair and DEO Isabella Grumbach, MD, PhD, welcomed the attendees and made brief remarks congratulating the graduates and expressing their confidence in their readiness to tackle any challenge that lay ahead.


Following their remarks, dinner was served. While guests made their way through the line and as they ate, a slideshow highlighting each graduate played on a screen near the stage. 

As guests finished their desserts, they got one more treat–an answer to many questions including “What kinds of talents lie hidden among our residents and faculty?” and “Just what IS prancercising?”

As the applause and laughter faded, it was time for the formal presentation of certificates to each graduate. As they took the stage, Suneja made a few brief comments about them, a photograph was snapped, and the graduate made a few remarks.

First, the preliminary residents, those who spend a year training with Internal Medicine before heading to a different specialty, were recognized.

Departing Preliminary Residents

Roshan Abid
Bilal Ahmed
Arnie Garza Reyes
Cy Lewis
Zak Sharif-Sidi
Joanna Silverman
Raghav Tripathi
Cheryl Wang

Then it was the categoricals’ turn. Suneja announced where each graduate would head next, some of whom would be staying on at Iowa for subspecialty fellowship or as Chief Residents or Hospitalists.

Graduating Categorical Residents

Christian Anderson (PSTP) Ahmed Abdelhamid Matt Becker
Tyler Bullis Benny Chang Adil Hassan
Mackenzie Hines Nathaniel Hocker Chermaine Hung
Ian Kidder Greg Kirkpatrick (PSTP) Wendy Liu
Paul Mester Emily Nguyen David Olafsson
Sean Pickthorn Tommy Robinson Jared Robl
Evelyn Ross-Shapiro John Salomone Ashwin Subramani
Rob Windisch Jason Winward Qiujun Yu
Samuel Zetumer

The final two graduates, the combined Medicine-Psychiatry residents, who spend five years in residency before graduating ready for certification in both specialties, were recognized alongside Program Director Vicki Kijewski, MD, and Associate Program Director Andrea Weber, MD.

Graduating Medicine-Psychiatry Residents

Hashim Chaudhry Gechi Obiano

Video of the certificate presentations is below, including the graduates’ speeches.

The final set of graduates, the Chief Residents, were then recognized. Suneja expressed his deep appreciation for their organization, clinical skills, and creativity before calling each of them individually.

A video tribute to the Chief Residents had also been prepared.

Three final awards would close out the formal portion of the evening. At the Chiefs’ Grand Rounds, the first set of awards, which had been voted on by the residents themselves, had already been delivered. Two awards–Outstanding Resident and Outstanding Faculty–have long traditions in the department, but a new award, the Amarchi Anukam Humanism Award would also have its inaugural winner.

Those winners are:

Amarchi Anukam Humanism Award
Ian Kidder, MD

Outstanding Faculty Teacher of the Year Award
Kevin Glenn, MD

Outstanding Resident of the Year Award
Tommy Robinson, MD

You can watch videos of their announcement and the winners’ acceptance speeches in the updated Awards post.

The formal ceremonies concluded, guests lingered for more than a few handshakes, hugs, and group photos.

Congratulations, Class of 2022!


2 Responses

Leave a Reply