Providers named Top 10% for patient experience

Internal Medicine placed 60 clinicians on the list of Patient’s Choice Award recipients for their excellence in patient care in Fiscal Year 2023 (July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2023). Each of our divisions is represented.

Recognition was based upon patient responses to five questions within the “Care Provider” section of patient surveys:

  • Concern showed for patient questions or worries
  • Explanations given to patient about problem or condition
  • Efforts to include patient in decisions about their care
  • Discussion of any proposed treatment (options, risks, benefits, etc.)
  • Likelihood of patient recommending care provider to others

These physicians and advanced practice providers will be invited to one of two in-person celebrations next week where they will be formally recognized as among the Top 10% in the nation.

Congratulations to these Internal Medicine clinicians!

Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

  • Jason Allen, MD
  • Christopher Benson, MD
  • Theresa Brennan, MD
  • Donald Brown, MD
  • Annalisa Cochran, ARNP, MSN-FNP
  • Katie Halbmaier, DNP, ARNP, FNP-BC
  • Phillip Horwitz, MD
  • Barry London, MD, PhD
  • Linda Lee, MD
  • Michael Muellerleile, MD
  • Nicholas Walker, MD

Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism

  • Joseph Dillon, MB, BCh, BAO
  • Brianne Foulker, MSN, ARNP
  • Helen Prathiba Gnanapragasam, MBBS
  • Katie Robinson, MD, PhD
  • Amal Shibli-Rahhal, MD, MS, MME

Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology

  • Caryn Berkowitz, MD
  • Elizabeth Cooper, PA-C
  • Alan Gunderson, MD
  • April Haven, ARNP
  • Frederick Johlin, MD
  • Steven Polyak, MD

Division of General Internal Medicine

  • Gwen Beck, MD
  • Rebecca Davis, MD
  • Wendy Fiordellisi, MD, MS
  • Lauren Graham, MD, MPH
  • Krista Johnson, MD, MME
  • Susan Kaliszewski, PA-C
  • David Katz, MD, MSc
  • Jerilyn Lundberg, MD
  • Evelyn Ross-Shapiro, MD, MPH
  • Jeanenne Suneja, MD
  • Shawna Westermann, MD
  • Katherine White, MD, MME

Division of Hematology, Oncology, and Blood & Marrow Transplantation

  • Clarissa Bruce, MPAS PA-C
  • Margaret Byrne, MD, MSc
  • Michele Freesmeier, PA-C
  • Douglas Laux, MD, MS
  • Mohammed Milhem, MBBS
  • Eric Mou, MD
  • Bilal Rahim, MD, MSc
  • Mario Sy, MD
  • Alexa J. Zink Baxter, MPAS, PA-C

Division of Immunology

  • Brittany Bettendorf, MD
  • Petar Lenert, MD, MSc, PhD
  • Jennifer Strouse, MD

Division of Infectious Diseases

  • Robin Hayward, PA-C
  • Poorani Sekar, MD
  • Judy Streit, MD

Division of Nephrology

  • Lisa Antes, MD
  • Amanda Karanikolas, ARNP
  • Douglas Somers, MD

Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Occupational Medicine

  • Kimberly Baker-El Abiad, MD
  • Herbert Berger, MD
  • Rachel Butler, MD
  • Thomas Gross, MD
  • Patrick Hartley, MB, BCh, BAO, MPH
  • Douglas Hornick, MD
  • Julia Klesney-Tait, MD, PhD
  • Tahuanty Peña, MD


2 Responses

  1. Kevin Dellsperger

    I know several from many years ago and it does not surprise me to find their names on this esteemed list. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply