ACP Resident Clinical Vignette Competition, 2021

Inevitably, every year, a faculty member can be overheard saying the same thing to a colleague: “I always learn something new at these.” This year was no different as the final round of the American College of Physicians (ACP) Clinical Vignette Competition wrapped up and the judges began their deliberation.

As with years past, that instruction to even senior faculty is the most valuable, but not the only, outcome of the competition. The winner of the competition will face other presenters at the Iowa ACP Chapter meeting at the end of the month, coinciding with the Progress 2021 CME event. The winner of the state level will advance, registration costs paid, to the competition next April at the national ACP meeting in Chicago.

But first, one of our two dozen residents needed to be chosen. Last week in concurrent sessions, the resident presenters walked audience members, colleagues, and judges through case presentations as varied as the types of patients who come through the doors of University of Iowa Health Care. Ten minutes were allotted to each for the most salient details, the resulting diagnosis and treatment, instruction and take-home points. An additional five minutes allowed the judges to dig a little deeper and press the resident on just how extensive their research and analysis was. The titles in the clickable image below should give a hint at the broad scope.

After the judges compiled their assessments of all 24 presentations, four winners emerged with another week to wait before facing off at Wednesday’s noon conference.

PGY-2 Katelin Durham, MD: Not Just a Hemorrhoid?
Mentor: Arvind Murali, MD (Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology)

PGY-3 Paul Mester, MD: Rash in a Patient with Transaminitis and Bile Duct Stricturing
Mentor: Bradley Manning, MD (Division of General Internal Medicine)

PGY-3 Ololade Saliu, MD: Significant Mucosal Bleeding in a Patient with Lupus
Mentor: Usha Perepu, MBBS, MRCP (Division of Hematology, Oncology, and Blood & Marrow Transplantion)

PGY-2 Kathie Zhang, MD: Mind the Gap!
Mentor: Meenakshi Sambharia, MD (Division of Nephrology and Hypertension)

“All of the presentations were excellent,” Vice Chair for Education and Residency Program Director Manish Suneja, MD, wrote later that afternoon. They demonstrated “the best of our residency program.” Suneja was “delighted” to announce that the judges had reached a decision and Zhang’s presentation “Mind the Gap” on euglycemic DKA was the winner.

Suneja expressed his gratitude to the “fabulous moderators”–Chief Residents Sydney Bowmaster, MD, and Derek Hupp, MD–as well as to Cindy Batzkiel and Abbey Gilpin for organizing the competition and making it a “huge success.” Suneja also expressed his gratitude to the judges for taking the time “from their busy schedule to help judge this competition.”

Ben Appenheimer
Brian Gehlbach
Bharat Kumar
Lee Sanders
Mathew Soltys
David Stoltz
Judy Streit
Joseph Szot
Katherine White
Joseph Zabner

Leave a Reply