2022 Research Seminar Series Schedule Announced

The Internal Medicine Research Seminar Series, enters its sixth year providing a unique forum to showcase the broad array of discovery being conducted within the department, as well as invited presenters from across the country. The typical format is composed of two presenters who each describe their individual work for 20 minutes and reserve 10 minutes for audience discussion. Our visiting speakers will each present for the full hour.

On March 8, Vincent Young, MD, PhD, from the University of Michigan, will discuss his research into the microbial ecology of gastrointestinal bacterial infections.

In November, we will host former Immunology faculty member Fayyaz Sutterwala, MD, PhD, now at Cedars Sinai in Los Angeles. His research focuses on innate immunity and in particular the NLR (nucleotide-binding domain leucine-rich repeat containing receptors) family of molecules that are involved in the regulation of inflammatory and cell death pathways.

The presentations will take place via Zoom, and the schedule follows below. Zoom links will be sent via email a day or two before each session.

Regarding this year’s lineup, series director Isabella Grumbach, MD, PhD, Interim Chair and Vice Chair for Research, says:

“This year, as in the past, we have a mix of our internal investigators as well as two outside speakers. I am certain that attendees will find the same spark for new ideas and the same chance to establish new collaborations, as they have every year in this series.”

Day: Second Tuesday of the month
Time: 1:00-2:00pm

February 8: Nirav Dhanesha, PhD and Prakash Doddapattar, PhD

March 8: Vincent Young, MD, PhD, University of Michigan

April 12: no seminar

May 10: Joseph Zabner, MD and Martha Carvour, MD, PhD

June 14: no seminar

July: summer break

August 9: Prajwal Gurung, PhD

September 13: Sue Bodine, PhD and Renata Pereira, PhD

October 11: Santosh Kumar, PhD and William Thiel, PhD

November 8: Fayyaz S. Sutterwala, MD, PhD, Cedars Sinai, Los Angeles

December 13: Mohamad Mokadem, MD and Masaaki Kurahashi, M

Leave a Reply